Methodology

The Atlas is based on a set of quadrilateral meso-scale domains called "tiles", and the juxtaposition of 65 partially overlapping tiles constitutes a representation of Canada's wind potential. On each tile, climate is characterized by a large set of weather conditions, providing over 200 different possible atmospheric states. The climatic modelling then consists in finding a spatial solution for the wind flow in each of those states. Results are then post-processed with a statistical model representing the dominant winds in order to obtain weighted average wind velocities.

The statistical-dynamical downscaling method (Frey-Buness et al., 1995) is applied to produce the wind atlas. The method consists of using large scale long term atmospheric data and their statistical properties to run a mesoscale model and post-process its output in order to get a small scale picture of atmospheric motion. This method involves the following steps:

Wind climate classification

The 3D representation of atmospheric state available every six hours at 2.5 degree resolution over the globe, known as NCAR/NCEP reanalysis (Kalnay et al., 1996), is chosen as data base. The elements of the data base are classified (Frank et al., 2001) using three parameters: the geostrophic wind direction at 0 m (16 equal sectors), the geostrophic wind speed at 0 m (9 classes 2 m/s wide from 0 to 18 m/s and 5 classes 4 m/s wide from 18 to 38 m/s which gives all together 14 classes) and the sign of 0-1500 m geostrophic wind shear (positive or negative). This way 432 bins (16x13x2+16 as no shear distinction is done for wind speeds below 2 m/s) called climate states are defined.

Each element of the long time series (every 6 hours for 43 years from 1958 until 2000) of the geostrophic wind vector at 0 m from the data base is attributed to a particular climate state. For each data base grid point, the classification procedure allows determining the climate states that occurred during the analysed period and the number of their realizations which defines their frequency of occurrence. This information will be necessary to initialize the mesoscale model and to do the post-processing.

Mesoscale simulations

The simulations are performed with the Mesoscale Compressible Community (MC2) model (Benoit et al., 1997), a state-of-art atmospheric model widely used by Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canadian Universities, and others worldwide. The Polar Stereographic grid with 5 km resolution at latitude 60 N is chosen. This grid is split into 65 partially overlapping (40%) domains of 175 by 175 points each to cover the whole Canadian territory. There are 28 unevenly distributed vertical levels with the two lowest model levels for wind calculations at 50 and 150 m. The orography and land use data are interpolated to the model resolution from the U.S. Geological Survey data base at 900 m resolution. The roughness field is determined entirely from the land use data. The centre of each domain is associated with the nearest grid point of the NCAR/NCEP global data base. Due to the classification procedure, this point is characterized by a specific set of climate states and their frequency of occurrence. For each climate state, a simulation with the MC2 model is performed. This includes the initialization with the climate states data which are this way downscaled to the model resolution. The simplified physics scheme without radiation, condensation or diurnal cycle is used in order to accelerate model convergence to the final state. The time step is 120 seconds and there is a nine-hour adaptation period for the initial flow to the surface geophysical properties.

Statistical post-processing

For each domain, the entire set of model outputs is combined using the frequencies of the climate states simulated as their weight. Seasonal atlas is created using seasonal frequencies of the climate states as weights to the same model outputs used for the annual atlas.

This gives a set of 2D data at model resolution characterizing wind potential of the domain. The mean wind speed (EU) and power (E1) are available as images at three levels: 30, 50 and 80 m in the maps section of the atlas. For the 50 m level the information about the frequency of occurrence of 12 wind sectors and 27 wind classes is also available in the form of respectively a wind rose and a wind speed histogram at each model point. All variables describing the wind potential are available in RPN standard files. Two of them, EU and E1, are available in MID/MIF files, the format compatible with a wide range of professional GIS and Image Processing softwares. Those two types of files are available in the download part of this site.

Microscale modelling

Statistical post-processing prepares data, available in RPN standard files, to be used by a microscale model such as MS-Micro of Environment and Climate Change Canada (Walmsley et al., 1986) or WAsP of the Riso Laboratory of Denmark (Troen and Petersen, 1989) to refine the wind flow near complex surfaces. The most important field for microscale modelling is the frequency distribution of mean wind speed by sector and class (variable UHR) which allows producing a bivariate frequency table of mean wind versus wind force and wind direction. The other data from the RPN standard file can be used as well if needed. But this is only one piece of information necessary to run the microscale model the other being the high resolution description of surface properties which is not provided here.

Bibliography

See the complete bibliography.

Date modified:

Méthodologie

L'Atlas est basé sur un ensemble de domaines méso-échelle quadrilatères nommés « tuiles ». La juxtaposition de ces tuiles, au nombre de 65 et présentant un recouvrement partiel mutuel, forme une représentation du potentiel éolien du Canada. Sur chaque tuile, le climat est caractérisé par un vaste ensemble de conditions illustrant plus de 200 états atmosphériques possibles. La modélisation climatique consiste alors à obtenir une solution spatiale de l'écoulement – donc du vent – pour chacun de ces états. Les résultats sont ensuite post-traités en fonction des vents dominants de chaque région selon un modèle statistique, afin d'obtenir une vitesse du vent moyenne pondérée.

La méthode statistique-dynamique d'étude des phénomènes de sous-échelle (Frey-Buness et al., 1995) est appliquée pour créer l'atlas éolien. Cette méthode consiste à générer de l'information atmosphérique de plus petite échelle spatiale en utilisant des modèles de la dynamique des fluides et des statistiques sur les données atmosphériques de plus grande échelle. Elle peut être résumée en quatre étapes :

Classification du climat éolien

La représentation tridimensionnelle de l'état atmosphérique (disponible à chaque six heures sur une maille de 2.5°) connue sous le nom des réanalyses NCAR/NCEP (Kalnay et al., 1996) est choisie comme la base de données. Ses éléments sont classifiés (Frank et al., 2001) selon les valeurs de trois paramètres suivants : la direction du vent géostrophique à 0 m d'altitude (16 secteurs égaux), sa vitesse (9 classes de largeur 2 m/s de 0 à 18 m/s et 5 classes de largeur 4 m/s de 18 à 38 m/s - 14 classes au total) et le signe de la différence de la vitesse du vent géostrophique entre 1500 et 0 m (positif ou négatif). On obtient ainsi 432 classes (16x13x2+16 car les vitesses inférieures à 2 m/s sont classifiées uniquement selon leur direction), appelées aussi les états climatiques. Chaque élément de la longue série temporelle (toutes les six heures pendant 43 ans de 1958 jusqu'à 2000) du vent géostrophique à 0 m de la base de données est assigné à un état climatique. Pour chaque point de grille de la base de données, la procédure de classification permet d'établir l'ensemble des états climatiques qui se sont réalisés et leur fréquence durant la période d'analyse. Cette information est indispensable aussi bien pour l'initialisation du modèle que pour le post-traitement statistique de ses résultats.

Simulations à méso-échelle

Les simulations sont effectuées avec le Modèle Compressible Communautaire (MC2) (Benoit et al., 1997), le modèle atmosphérique de pointe utilisé par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, des universités canadiennes et d'autres centres de recherche à l'étranger. Une résolution de 5 km (vraie à 60° Nord) et une projection polaire stéréographique sont choisies. Un ensemble de 65 domaines, de 175 par 175 points chacun, superposés avec un recouvrement de 40% et qui englobe le territoire du Canada au complet est créé. La résolution verticale est variable et comprend 28 niveaux avec les plus bas niveaux pour le calcul du vent à 50 et 150 m. Les conditions au sol sont moyennées à la résolution du modèle et proviennent, pour l'orographie et l'utilisation du sol, de la base de données de U. S. Geological Survey à la résolution de 900 m. La rugosité est calculée uniquement à partir de l'utilisation du sol. Le centre de chaque domaine est associé avec le plus proche point de grille de la base de données NCAR/NCEP. Grâce à la procédure de classification, ce point est caractérisé par l'ensemble d'états climatiques et leur fréquence. Pour chaque état climatique, une simulation de modèle MC2 est effectuée. Ceci implique l'initialisation du modèle avec les données météorologiques à grande échelle. Le schéma de physique simplifié qui ne prend en considération ni rayonnement, ni condensation, ni cycle journalier, est utilisé pour accélérer la convergence du modèle à l'état d'équilibre. Le pas de temps utilisé est de 120 secondes et une période de neuf heures est requise pour l'adaptation de l'écoulement initial aux propriétés géophysiques de la surface.

Post-traitement statistique

Pour chaque domaine et pour un niveau choisi, l'ensemble des résultats du modèle est combiné, chacun avec son poids égal à la fréquence qui caractérise l'état climatique simulé. L'Atlas saisonnier est construit en appliquant des poids issus d'une climatologie saisonnière à chacun des états climatiques simulés pour l'atlas annuel.

On obtient ainsi une représentation bidimensionnelle du potentiel éolien du domaine. Les images de la vitesse moyenne (EU) et de la puissance éolienne moyenne (E1) sont disponibles dans la section des cartes de l'atlas pour les trois niveaux 30, 50 et 80 m. Le niveau 50 m est aussi caractérisé en tout point par la fréquence d'occurrence de 12 secteurs de vitesse - sous la forme d'une rose de vents - et par la fréquence d'occurrence de 27 classes de vitesse - sous la forme d'un histogramme. Toutes les variables qui caractérisent le potentiel éolien sont disponibles dans les fichiers standard de RPN.

Les variables EU et E1 sont également disponibles dans les fichiers MID/MIF dont le format est compatible avec de nombreux logiciels de traitement des images et les systèmes d'information géographique (SIG). Ces deux types de fichiers sont disponibles dans la partie téléchargements de ce site.

Modélisation à micro-échelle

Le post-traitement statistique génère des données, disponibles dans les fichiers standard de RPN, nécessaires pour effectuer les simulations à micro-échelle avec les modèles tels que MS-Micro d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (Walmsley et al., 1986) ou WAsP du Laboratoire Riso au Danemark (Troen and Petersen, 1989). La connaissance de la distribution de fréquence de la vitesse moyenne du vent par secteur et par classe (la variable UHR) est essentielle pour la modélisation à micro-échelle. Elle permet de calculer une table des fréquences à deux dimensions pour la vitesse moyenne en fonction du module et de la direction du vent. Les autres résultats du post-traitement statistique peuvent être aussi utilisés au besoin. Par contre, la description des propriétés de la surface à haute résolution, aussi requise pour la modélisation à micro-échelle, n'est pas disponible ici.

Bibliographie

Consulter la bibliographie complète.

Date de modification :