Welcome to the Atlas

Environment and Climate Change Canada's Wind Energy Atlas web site aims at developing new meteorological tools to be used by Canada's wind energy industry. It offers the possibility to browse through the results of the numerical simulations that were run on all of Canada in order to determine its wind energy potential. Consultants and the general public will find here valuable data about this promising renewable energy.

This site features colour maps representing the average wind velocity and power on the whole country, as well as corresponding geophysical characteristics, all available in an easy to use browsing interface that allows you to go quickly to the heart of the meteorological data.

Also offered are an overview of the methodology used to generate the different simulation maps, and a download section where data files can be obtained in case you would like to run custom simulations.

The Canadian Wind Energy Atlas, unveiled in October 2004, is a contribution from the EOLE Project, a research project hosted by Environment and Climate Change Canada (RPN) and initiated in year 2000. Most of the results are based on WEST (Wind Energy Simulation Toolkit), a system developed for the project.

Robert Benoit, then Head of the Wind Energy project, and Wei Yu, Physical Scientist, were presented with the 2005 R.J. Templin Award, given by the Canadian Wind Energy Association, for their outstanding contribution to the development of Canadian wind energy technology.

Date modified:

Bienvenue dans l'Atlas

Le site Web de l'Atlas canadien d'énergie éolienne d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada vise à fournir de nouveaux outils météorologiques pour le développement de l'industrie de l'énergie éolienne au Canada. Il offre la possibilité de naviguer parmi les résultats des simulations numériques qui ont été effectuées sur l'ensemble du territoire canadien afin d'en déterminer le potentiel éolien. Les consultants et le public en général pourront y obtenir de précieuses données sur cette forme d'énergie renouvelable.

Vous trouverez dans ce site des cartes couleur représentant la vitesse et la puissance moyennes du vent sur l'ensemble du pays, ainsi qu'une superposition de champs géophysiques décrivant certaines caractéristiques du territoire, le tout dans une interface de navigation facile à utiliser, qui permet d'aller rapidement au coeur des données météorologiques.

Sont aussi offertes une présentation de la méthodologie utilisée pour arriver à produire ces cartes et une section de téléchargements qui permet d'obtenir des fichiers de données en vue de réaliser des simulations numériques personnalisées.

L'Atlas canadien d'énergie éolienne, inauguré en octobre 2004, est une réalisation du projet ÉOLE, issu d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (RPN) et ayant commencé ses travaux en l'an 2000. La plupart des résultats obtenus sont basés sur le système WEST (Wind Energy Simulation Toolkit), développé dans le cadre du projet.

Robert Benoit, alors chef du projet d'énergie éolienne, et Wei Yu, physicien, ont reçu le prix R.J. Templin 2005, décerné par l'Association canadienne de l'énergie éolienne, honorant leur contribution exceptionnelle au développement technologique de l'énergie éolienne canadienne.

Date de modification :