Navigation Help

The navigation interface is used to browse the numerical simulation results of the Canadian Wind Energy Atlas in an easy and intuitive way. The maps page displays a global view of the fields calculated on all the Canadian territory. From there, a navigation tile by tile gives a more detailed view of the calculations by displaying the current tile in the central panel.

 

Navigation Menu

Navigation Menu

The small map represents the current tile's position on the Canadian territory. Clicking on another tile makes it appear in the central display. The four small arrows around the central tile can also be used to move about.

 

Field Menu

Field Menu

Contains the list of data fields from the Atlas that can be displayed in the central tile. The image is updated every time a new field is selected.


Field Description

 

Height Menu

Height Menu

For the fields "Mean Wind Speed" and "Mean Wind Power", it is possible to display the results for 3 different heights. The default height is 50m above the ground which is a common height for wind turbines.

 

Period menu

Period Menu

For the fields "Mean Wind Speed" and "Mean Wind Power", it is possible to display the results for 5 different periods: annual, winter (December, January, February), spring (March, April, May), summer (June, July, August), and fall (September, October, November).

 

Display Options Menu

Display Options Menu

It is possible to overlay various useful information on top of the field tiles, for better localisation. These options are also available in the corresponding high-resolution images. Please note that when an option button is grayed out and disabled, it means the corresponding option is not available for that tile.

 

Download and print Menu

Download and print Menu

It is possible to get the current map as an image in a higher resolution than the one displayed on the screen, in order to download or print it.

 

Zoom button

Zoom button

The "Zoom" button, located above the central map, is used to get the current map as an image in a higher resolution than the one displayed on the screen, making it easier to see the options, such as the name of the cities. Please note that, as opposed to the display by tile, this image shows the overlap with neighbouring tiles.

 

Overall map button

Overall map button

The "Overall map", located above the central map, is used to get the glabl map of Canada showing the field presently displayed in the central image, in order to get a global view of that tile among the others.

 

Rose, histogram and turbine formula

Values, wind roses, wind speed histograms, turbine formula at a point Menu

A click on a point on the tile displays a popup window with information on the nearest grid node: latitude, longitude, numerical values, wind roses, wind speed histograms, and the possibility to calculate the turbine formula by entering wind turbine data. Instead of a click on the tile, a latitude/longitude or a postal code can be directly entered by the user in this menu so as to display the same information for that location, or for the nearest point. Finally, the latitude/longitude corresponding to the point situated under the cursor is displayed at the top of that menu; the display is updated when the cursor is moved in the tile.

 
popup window

The popup window shows four tabs on which a click displays successively numerical values, wind roses, wind speed histograms, and a form to calculate the turbine formula.

 

Legend

Legend

The legend shows the color ramp and the scale used for the field displayed in the central map.

 

Cart Menu

Cart Menu

The web site has an integrated virtual cart to choose interesting tiles for further downloading their associated data files, to analyse them or to run more complex simulations. The three buttons can be used to add and remove an item from the cart, or to go to the cart contents page, where it is possible to download the data files for the tiles that were previously marked. The number between parentheses in the caption represents the current number of items in the cart.

 

Tools Menu

Tools Menu

The Help button leads to this help page.

 

Compare with real life observations Menu

Compare with real life observations Menu

It is possible to display a comparison of the results computed by the model to the real results observed at certain points of the tile. Please note that this comparison is done for the mean wind speed at a height of 10m.

Date modified:

Aide à la navigation

L'interface de navigation permet de parcourir les résultats de simulation numérique de l'Atlas canadien d'énergie éolienne de façon simple et intuitive. La page des cartes donne une vision d'ensemble des champs calculés sur tout le territoire du Canada. De là, une navigation par tuile permet une vue plus fine des calculs en présentant dans la partie centrale de l'écran la tuile courante.

 

Le menu Navigation

Le menu Navigation

La petite carte représente la position de la tuile courante sur le territoire canadien et offre la possibilité de cliquer dans une autre tuile pour qu'elle s'affiche dans la fenêtre principale. Le déplacement vers d'autres tuiles peut également s'effectuer en cliquant sur une des quatre flèches qui entourent la tuile centrale.

 

Le menu Champ à afficher

Le menu Champ à afficher

On y trouve la liste des données de l'Atlas qu'il est possible d'afficher sous forme d'images. La tuile principale est mise à jour chaque fois que l'on clique sur un nouveau champ.


Description des différents champs

 

Le menu hauteur

Le menu Hauteur

Pour les champs Vitesse moyenne du vent et Puissance éolienne moyenne, on peut obtenir les résultats calculés par le modèle à 3 hauteurs différentes. La hauteur de défaut, 50m au-dessus du sol, est une hauteur couramment utilisée pour la construction d'éoliennes.

 

Le menu Période

Le menu Période

Pour les champs Vitesse moyenne du vent et Puissance éolienne moyenne, il est possible d'obtenir les résultats calculés par le modèle à cinq périodes différentes: annuel, hiver (décembre, janvier, février), printemps (mars, avril, mai), été (juin, juillet, août) et automne (septembre, octobre, novembre).

 

Le menu Options d'affichage

Le menu Options d'affichage

On peut superposer aux tuiles des différents champs certaines informations utiles pour se repérer. Ces informations sont également disponibles dans les images à haute résolution qu'il est possible de télécharger pour chaque tuile. À noter que lorsqu'un bouton est grisé, cela indique que l'option correspondante n'est pas disponible pour cette tuile.

 

Le menu Téléchargez et imprimez

Le menu Téléchargez et imprimez

On peut obtenir la carte courante sous forme d'une image à plus haute résolution que celle présentée à l'écran, pour la télécharger ou l'imprimer.

 

Le bouton Zoom

Le bouton Zoom

Le bouton "Zoom" situé au-dessus de la tuile centrale permet d'obtenir la carte courante sous forme d'une image à plus haute résolution que celle présentée à l'écran, permettant ainsi de voir plus clairement les options, comme les noms des villes. Il est à noter que, contrairement à l'affichage par tuile, cette image montre également la zone du recouvrement avec les tuiles voisines.

 

Le bouton Carte globale

Le bouton Carte globale

Le bouton "Carte globale" situé au-dessus de la tuile centrale permet d'obtenir la carte globale du Canada présentant le champ affiché dans la carte courante, afin d'avoir une vision globale de cette tuile parmi les autres.

 

Le menu Rose, histogramme et formule de turbine

Le menu Valeurs, roses des vents, histogrammes des vitesses, formule de turbine à un point

Un clic en un point sur la tuile affiche une mini-fenêtre contenant des informations au noeud le plus proche pour la hauteur sélectionnée: latitude, longitude, valeurs numériques, roses des vents, histogrammes des vitesses, ainsi que la possibilité de calculer la formule de turbine en entrant les données d'une éolienne. Plutôt que de cliquer sur la tuile, on peut également entrer directement une latitude/longitude ou entrer un code postal et ainsi afficher ces mêmes informations pour cette localisation, ou au noeud le plus proche. Enfin, la latitude/longitude correspondant au point situé sous le curseur est affichée en haut de ce menu; l'affichage se met à jour lorsqu'on déplace le curseur dans la tuile.

 
Le menu Rose, histogramme et formule de turbine

La mini-fenêtre présente quatre onglets sur lesquels il suffit de cliquer pour faire apparaître successivement valeurs numériques, roses des vents, histogrammes des vitesses et formulaire de calcul de la formule de turbine.

 

La légende

La Légende

La légende correspond à la palette de couleur et à l'échelle utilisées pour le champ affiché dans la tuile centrale.

 

Le menu Panier

Le menu Panier

Le site est muni d'un panier virtuel pour marquer les tuiles intéressantes en vue de télécharger plus tard les fichiers de données associés, pour les analyser ou effectuer des simulations plus poussées. Les trois boutons permettent d'ajouter ou de retirer la tuile courante du panier, ou d'aller à la page qui affiche le contenu du panier. Il y sera alors possible de télécharger les fichiers précédemment marqués. Le nombre entre parenthèses dans le titre indique la quantité de tuiles qui ont été mises dans le panier jusqu'à présent. Une limite quotidienne de téléchargement est appliquée par utilisateur et par adresse IP.

 

Le menu Outils

Le menu Outils

Le bouton Aide permet d'accéder à la page d'aide que vous lisez présentement.

 

Le menu Comparer

Le menu Comparez avec les observations réelles

Il est possible de voir une comparaison des résultats calculés par le modèle aux résultats réels observés en certains points de la tuile. À noter que cette comparaison se fait pour la vitesse moyenne du vent à une hauteur de 10m

Date de modification :